Skip To Main Content
Founder’s Day 2022 ~ A Grand Celebration

The Lasallian spirit was overflowing at DeLaSalle this past Tuesday! Our Founder’s Day Mass and ice cream social was a grand celebration of the many blessings of Lasallian education. Christian Brothers and administrators from many Midwest District ministries were present as the Provincial Visitor, Br. Michael Fehrenbach, presented Archbishop Bernard Hebda, a graduate of a Christian Brothers’ high school, with the Letters of Affiliation. The Letters were given in thanksgiving and recognition of the Archbishop’s support for Lasallian schools.

Following the liturgy, the school’s most prestigious annual awards for teachers and staff were presented. The Liemandt Excellence in Teaching Award was established in 1995 by Diane Liemandt, through the Liemandt Foundation. By vote of the teaching staff, the LETA is given annually to a DeLaSalle classroom teacher, to recognize outstanding accomplishment in the following areas: commitment to the DeLaSalle mission; classroom management skills; care for students, respect and rapport; curriculum enhancement and advancements; innovative teaching strategies and effort; and participation in continuing education and personal growth. The 2022 LETA was awarded to Theology teacher Brother Dylan Perry. 

The Distinguished Lasallian Educator Award is presented in Lasallian schools throughout the United States and Canada each year by the Regional Board of Education of the Christian Brothers. The annual selection is made by nominations of the entire staff at DeLaSalle and is based upon the following criteria: (1) The recipient must be an educational minister in a Lasallian school for a minimum of five years; (2) the recipient must work in association with the school community to foster Gospel values in the lives of staff and students; and (3) the recipient must see the Lasallian school as a place of educational excellence, which shares in the mission of the Catholic Church. DeLaSalle’s Distinguished Lasallian Educator for 2022 is Transportation Manager Joseph Gelin. 

  • Special Events