Skip To Main Content
Awards, Cheers for DeLaSalle Theatre; Program to Perform at the Spotlight Showcase

Congratulations to the DeLaSalle Theatre program whose production of “Catch Me if You Can” earned 30 awards from the Hennepin Theatre Trust SpotLight Education Program. The March musical was staged over three weekends, one of six different productions (including two musicals) staged by the DeLaSalle Theatre program in 2021-22.

The success of the show sustains a multi-year run of critical acclaim for one of the bigger and best theatre programs in the state. Each musical production offered in the past seven years by DeLaSalle Theatre has earned a minimum of 13 ensemble or individual awards from the Spotlight program. In 2021-22, the program earned an astounding 56 total awards for its two musical productions – 26 for the production of “Chicago” in November 2021 and a new school record of 30 awards earned by the cast and crew of “Catch Me if You Can!”

Due to the critical acclaim of the two productions in this school year, DeLaSalle’s theatre program has once again been invited to perform live as one of the select schools in the annual SpotLight Showcase. Spotlight Showcase is Minnesota high school theater’s biggest celebration! Over 1,600 students participate in the awards and recognition event, where students from across Minnesota will take the stage at the historic State Theatre on June 13 and 14.

Kudos and huge applause to DeLaSalle’s award-winning program for an outstanding year of productions and well-deserved recognition from the professional theatre community!

Speaking of recognition, it’s no surprise to the hundreds who attended one or more performances of “Catch Me if You Can” that the collective cast and crew earned the highest rating of “Outstanding” in all ten SpotLight Award ensemble categories for the first time in school history – a clean sweep!

  • Outstanding Honors in Achievement in Musical Theatre
  • Outstanding Honors in Overall Production
  • Outstanding Honors in Overall Performance
  • Outstanding Honors in Ensemble Performance
  • Outstanding Honors in Acting Performance
  • Outstanding Honors in Vocal Performance
  • Outstanding Honors in Dance Performance
  • Outstanding Honors for the Overall Technical Team
  • Outstanding Honors in Light and Sound
  • Outstanding Honors in Run Crew

In addition, several members of the cast and crew really shone. The Theatre Trust also recognized twenty De thespians with individual awards. Two members of the cast received Outstanding Performance in a Supporting Role:

  • Owen Johnson ’22 as Roger Strong
  • Frances Ronning ’22 as Carol Strong

Seven members of the crew earned a rating of Outstanding in Technical Leadership Award:

  • Sylvia Torkelson '22 as Student Producer
  • Emma Braje '24 as Stage Manager
  • Morgan Bailie '22 as Assistant Student Director
  • Lily Burrows '22 as Choreographer
  • Anna Lukas '22 as Hair/Make-Up Designer
  • Erika Eastlund-Cortes '22 as Student Technical Director
  • Zoe Kreisler '22 as Lighting Designer

Four members of the cast or crew received Honorable Mention honors:

  • Lilian Brasch '24
  • Luke Goeddeke '22
  • Finnian Buffington '22
  • Eva Ortiz '25

And finally, a special “Evaluator Shout-Out” was awarded to cast and crew members who stood out in supporting roles during the course of the show’s run:

  • David Clancy '22
  • Sophie Copeland '23
  • Edric Duffy '25
  • Monti Lambert '24
  • De’Jaun Simmons '22
  • Lucca Taylor '22
  • Activities
  • Students